Heather’s Post

Hey everyone! My name is Heather Sadkowski and this year I’m the Community Leader for Activities! In essence, I oversee all the programming that goes on in residence and I also planned all of Orientation week (hopefully you still remember that!). I never thought 4 years ago when I first came to Ryerson that I would have dedicated so many years and enjoyable memories to what I call my Residence Life family. Over the course of 3 years, I have seen students grow and challenge themselves to the next stage of their lives: university. This is the first year that those first year students from 2009 are going to be graduating and I can’t believe that 4 years has flown by so quick!

If you had asked me five years ago, who a leader was, I would have give you examples like Gandhi, Jack Layton, Mother Theresa and other countless famous names. If at the same time, you would have told me that five years later I would be brushing shoulders with some of Canada’s best and strongest leaders, I would have chuckled and tried to think of what kind of a contest I had entered to get me to the All Stars game, a political conference, or a Nobel Peace Prize ceremony.
Everyday I truly feel that I am in the presence of some of the strongest, passionate and motivating student leaders in the country. A friend of mine once said, “When you do what you love, you will never work a day in your life,” and I feel like this quote embodies each of these student leaders. On top of school, they balance their social lives and this job and guide these undergraduates through some of the most life changing and memorable moments of their lives.I think that we tend to undervalue what leadership is and most importantly WHO a student leader is. We need to rethink what it means because not every leader is a loud, political, activist or innovator. The person you pass by in the hall could be one of the best leaders at Ryerson and you might not even know it. The AMPED conference is an amazing opportunity to allow yourself to discover what kind of a leader you are, how you can strengthen and fine tune those qualities to make you stand out. It also gives you the opportunity to meet other fellow students who have the same passion and drive that you do.

A leader isn’t someone who get awards or is known worldwide. Leaders are present in our everyday lives and the Residence Life Staff are some of the strongest leaders I know here at Ryerson and in my life. I can’t think of any other students who are better multi-tasker’s, balancers, counselors’, students, problem solvers, programmers, marketing promoter, safety enforcers and friends. We go above and beyond what is asked of us and the reason behind it is simple- the students. This conference couldn’t do a better job illustrating just that. All these things reinforce my mantra:

“When you love what you do, you will never work a day in your life.”

Leave a Reply

